Dancing in gym

Hey blog world! Today in gym class we were dancing! We’ll be doing it for the next 4 (I think) gym classes! The boys in my class don’t seem too satisfied about that! LOL! First we were doing warm ups to different songs (probably remixes).Today we were taught (yes there was a dance instructor (guest) there) dance moves to Thrift Shop http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QK8mJJJvaes&list=HL1362173188! Except there was no singing but just the music. I kinda expected that song because my friend L.B. did dancing in gym (the same song) with her class before mine did. L.B. told me that her two school friends, M and A, can’t dance in gym. I asked why, then she told me that they told her that it’s against their religion (both of them are muslim) to dance in front of guys. Instead, they have to write a 400-500 word essay on a dance culture. That sucks for them. Last year (in grade 8) we also did dancing in gym! I think we were first dancing to a foreign dance (I forget what) on the first dance class (last year). Then we had to have a group for dancing in front of the class. It was just me and L.B.! Me and L.B. both danced to Say It Right by Nelly Furtado http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6JnGBs88sL0 (It was one of the songs on my iPod)! I don’t know if we are picking our groups next class or continuing on with our dance. By the way the day we dance in front of the class (in gym), I’ll be making another blog post on this!

What’s your favorite type of dance? Tell me in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Dancing in gym

  1. I had to do a dance assignment in drama class. We had to do the chicken dance! In a few weeks we’re going to do the major assignment for the movement unit which can be either choreographing a scene to music or choreographing a dance. I’m gonna dance to “Good Morning Baltimore” from “Hairspray”!

Leave a Reply

